Monday, November 27, 2017

THE LAIR OF THE WHITE WORM

The Lair of the White Worm Movie Review

After digging up a skull he cannot identify, Angus Flint (Peter Capaldi, World War Z), along with sisters Mary (Sammi Davis, Four Rooms) and Eve (Catherine Oxenberg) Trent, and Lord James d'Ampton (Hugh Grant), makes a connection between the skull and a local legend regarding a large snake-worm thing--to make matter worse, a vampire-snake chick (Amanda Donohoe) appears and begins killing people and/or turning them into vampire-snake people...yes, this 1988 British film, loosely based on Bram Stoker's novel of the same name and an actual English legend, is every bit as weird as it sounds, and all in such wonderful ways, the most terrific being the flashback scenes.

Lady Sylvia Marsh, aka Vampire-Snake Chick

The imagery and action is so odd, outrageous, and completely psychedelic that you will likely find yourself rewinding to watch these scenes over and over again. There is a fair amount of violence in the film, which you may expect, but it's the dark comedy that may catch you off guard--this aspect of this movie is very hit or miss--some of the jokes are laugh out loud funny, and others fall flat. The cast is pretty good from top to bottom, with Grant delivering some particularly good deadpan humor. There is a bit of a 1970's Hammer films feel here, and certainly a 1950's creature feature feel as well.

Especially when we see this guy

The movie does slow down way too much at times, a shame for a film that's 95 minutes long, but there is a rather glorious ending, so it's worth it to push through. The Lair of the White Worm is certainly a rare breed of film, and it's not hard to see why it has such a cult following--it's about as out there as a film gets, and it's a lot of fun to watch.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 7


The Lair of the White Worm Movie Trailer (Warning: This one contains some nudity)

Monday, November 13, 2017

BARRACUDA

Barracuda Movie Review

In 1975, the movie Jaws took the world by storm and scared audiences silly. As is often the case with such hits, many cheap imitation movies followed--in the case of Jaws, those movies came for years, and Barracuda is one such film--at least in part. This one came out in 1978, and until yesterday I had not seen it since probably some time in the mid 1980s, so I was looking forward to checking it out again. The movie starts off swell enough--we get lots of barracuda attacks, lots of death scenes, lots of blood--really a lot more than you may expect from a movie rated PG.

There's even a severed head!

So the movie goes along just fine, and we get used to the killer fish, but then the film takes a drastic turn--our fun little horror movie becomes a whodunit of sorts, with government conspiracies, mind control, and the focus of the film goes from the barracudas to humans...and my interest dropped considerably. The bad acting and poor dialogue could be overlooked early on because the attacks were cool and entertaining, but when the plot shifted, these things became painful. From this point on, the movie drags, the story falls apart, and the end, while somewhat surprising, is abrupt and leaves the viewer feeling the entire thing was a waste of time. Watch this one for the first half, but if you plan to watch the rest, be ready to be disappointed.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 4


Barracuda Movie Trailer



Oh okay, because I know it's been stuck in your head...

Sunday, November 12, 2017

STRANGER THINGS (Season 2)

Stranger Things Season 2 Review

WARNING: This review will contain a few Season 2 spoilers, and WILL contain many spoilers from Season 1, so if you have not seen that yet, you might want to check it out before continuing....okay, now that you've been warned, lets get on with this. Season 2 picks up just under a year after the end of Season 1--Will Byers (Noah Schnapp) is back, his mother Joyce (Winona Ryder) is almost normal again and dating Bob (Sean Astin), and Eleven (Millie Bobby Brown) has survived and is living with Chief Hopper (David Harbour). Of somewhat less importance: Jonathan Byers (Charlie Heaton) and Nancy Wheeler (Natalia Dyer) are getting closer as Nancy, apparently deciding Steve Harrington (Joe Keery) is just too nice these days, pulls away from her boyfriend; a fella named Sam Owens (Paul Reiser) is now running Hawkins Laboratory; Dustin (Gaten Matarazzo) now has his front teeth; there is a new girl, Dig Dug master Max (Sadie Sink), in the boys' group and her step-brother Billy (Dacre Montgomery) is the new high school bully and heartthrob, with a specific hatred for poor Steve.

And a wonderful head of hair

This season seems much more scattered than the first season, as we see the characters not only intertwine in different ways, but also see them sort of grow apart and branch out on their own (more on that soon). Eleven wanders off on her own to find her mother, and eventually her "sister", a chick from the opening scene of the first episode who we know immediately has some sort of connection to El. This girl, who is a bit older than Eleven, is tattooed 008, and heads her own group of troublemakers. 

Here they are now

After the initial scene, the group is practically forgotten about until, much later into the season, Eleven tracks them down, briefly joins them, then leaves soon after to head back to Hawkins.

Complete with a new wave makeover

For as much potential as this part of the story had, it ended up being fairly disappointing--there was a tremendous buildup to what ultimately lead to nothing terribly meaningful--this said, Kali, or 008, or Eight--whatever you want to call her--could lead her gang into Season 3, so we'll have to wait and see on that one. Another outstanding buildup that leaves the viewer disappointed is that of Billy and Max. It is heavily teased throughout the season that these two are not quite as they seem, but at the end of the day, we find Billy is a jerk because his father is a jerk (Henry Bowers anybody?) and Max is just a girl with a crush on Lucas (Caleb McLaughlin). Much like with Eight, I am holding out hope there is more to come from these two in season three. I also felt this season focused way too much on Dustin, a character most effective as a side kick, while featuring way too little of Joyce. All that out of the way, the stuff we loved from season one is still present here--the strong character development, the impressive acting (Harbour in particular really steps up his game), the 80s nostalgia (the boys dress as the Ghostbusters for Halloween and argue because none of them wanted to be poor Winston), the music (though not as good as in the first season), and whatever is happening in, and approaching from, the upside down.

Cloverfield? M.U.T.O.?

Going back to what I said about the characters branching out--the final season closes with the boys each dancing with a different girl, implying that, perhaps, the group is growing up and apart--it will certainly be interesting to see what direction this goes in when we get to the third season. While not quite on the level of the first season, the second season of Stranger Things does not disappoint--a third season is inevitable, and I cannot wait to see it, but a part of me hopes it is so good they end at three...there's nothing worse than seeing a good show die a slow, painful death, and Stranger Things deserves a better fate than that.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 7


Stranger Things Season 2 Trailer

THE DEADLY MANTIS

The Deadly Mantis Movie Review

A giant praying mantis, frozen in ice since prehistoric times, is unleashed to terrorize the world. As is often the case in these 1950s giant insect movies, the United States military is on the job to take down the threat. The movie begins with a long narration explaining locations and everything we are about to see, followed by the introduction of the main characters, followed by a lot of absolutely nothing happening. After what seems an eternity, our mantis friend finally gets his time to shine, and shine he does!

Flying mantis!

I acknowledge the fact we don't watch these 50s sci-fi flicks for the Academy-level acting, but my goodness, the acting in this movie is really bad--to call it wooden would be an insult to many finer performances that have been branded with that label. The dialogue is almost as bad as the acting, there is a ton of stock footage usage, and don't even get me started on the directing. If you can make it through all this, you will be treated to a pretty cool looking giant mantis.

"Aww, shucks!"

Most unfortunately, the damage caused by the mantis is minimal, and his inevitable destruction is fairly disappointing. I have a real life love of praying mantises--one summer, when I was 19 years old, I would often sleep with my bedroom window open, and on many such mornings I would wake up with a praying mantis in my room, frequently on my chest; I have loved them every since--this, coupled with my adoration of 50s sci-fi films, made me very excited to see The Deadly Mantis, but sadly, this one didn't come close to my expectations. 

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 4


The Deadly Mantis Movie Trailer

Saturday, November 11, 2017

FRIGHT NIGHT PART 2

Fright Night Part 2 Movie Review

Three years after killing vampire Jerry Dandridge, Charley Brewster (William Ragsdale) is in college, has upgraded his choice in women (now with Alex, played by Traci Lind ), and no longer believes in vampires--the problem is, Jerry's vampire sister Regine (Julie Carmen) and her band of misfits are in town and out for revenge. With Alex not believing in vampires, Evil Ed gone, and Amy...well, we're not quite sure what happened to Amy...there is only one person Charley can turn to for help...

Peter Vincent...Vampire Killer!

As is often the case, the sequel doesn't quite live up to the original, but there is still plenty to enjoy here. Roddy McDowall is once again spectacular in his portrayal of Peter Vincent, the on-screen vampire hunter turned real life--an very hesitant--vampire killer. Ragsdale turns in another decent performance as Charley, but the acting drops off considerably from there. The villains are an interesting crew--we have Regine, the leader,

Jerry's sis

Louie, the Evil Ed wannabe who looks like some strange cross between Top Dollar from The Crow and Michael Westen from Burn Notice,

Party on dude

Belle, the sometimes males, sometimes female, roller skating terror,

Belle on wheels

and Bozworth, the bug eating creep who looks like my old buddy Quasar from my younger days.

With that diet he ought to move to Florida

The basis of the story is somewhat uninspired, but there are some pretty unexpected twists and turns along the way. The horror isn't quite as scary, nor the comedy quite as funny, as in the first film, but this movie certainly has its moments. The makeup and special effects are a step down from the original film as well, but they are still decent for the time. The movie does run a bit long, but the rapid-fire death scenes toward the end make it all worth it. I had always liked Fright Night 2, and was thrilled when my girlfriend got it for me years ago, as it had been years before that since I had watched it--I was very happy to discover I still liked it quite a bit. The movie screams 80s horror awesomeness, and should be watched by any fan of that decade.

As a side note, the story of the movie after its theatrical release is also interesting: the distribution of the film was halted with the murder of Jose Menendez, the head of distribution, and the movie played to a limited number of theaters. While it was released on VHS the following year, it received a very limited DVD release in 2003 from Artisan, and has not been officially released on blu-ray. As a result of this, the Artisan DVD is highly collectible (I have one--thanks Sani!), and many, many illegal copies have been sold. So if you have this film on DVD that is not from Artisan, or you have a blu-ray of any sort, congratulations--you have yourself a bootleg. 

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 7


Fright Night Part 2 Movie Trailer

FRIGHT NIGHT

Fright Night Movie Review

When Jerry Dandridge (Chris Sarandon, The Nightmare Before Christmas), a vampire, moves in next door, teenager Charley Brewster (William Ragsdale) enlists the help of his girlfriend Amy (Amanda Bearse from Married...with Children), his horror-freak pal Evil Ed (Stephen Geoffreys, 976-Evil) and famous vampire hunter--in films only--Peter Vincent (Hollywood legend Roddy McDowall) to help combat him. There are a handful of horror films that remind me of being a kid--ones that, growing up, I watched more times than I could ever count--and Fright Night is certainly one of them, so it will always hold a sentimental place for me, but looking past that, this really is a fantastic horror film. For as much as I love the other things about the film I will touch on in a moment, my favorite part of the movie is McDowall as Peter Vincent.

"Who...me?"

The character--an obvious nod to horror legends Peter Cushing and Vincent Price--is an over-the-hill horror actor who now hosts a late night horror show--appropriately titled Fright Night--often showing the movies of his prime. Charley, believing that if anybody would know how to help his vampire problem, it would be "Vincent Price--Vampire Killer!", seeks out the assistance of the actor, but when Charley meets Price, he finds him to be less Van Helsing and more Cowardly Lion. McDowall's performance ranks as one of my all time favorites in any sort of movie. The rest of the cast does a good job as well, particularly Sarandon as the vampire and Geoffreys as Evil Ed, another of my favorite characters in horror history. Another outstanding aspect of this film comes from the special effects and makeup departments. As the movie jumps effortlessly between the comedic and the horrific, these departments do a great job delivering the frights.

An oft-used Facebook profile pic for a certain horror blog writer

This one may have given my girlfriend nightmares years ago

As impressive as these visuals are, the best of the film is saved for the scene featuring Ed's fate--the transformation draws comparison to that in An American Werewolf In London, and is just as good in my book--in fact, I prefer the one in Fright Night simply because I find it far more tragic while also being quite disturbing.

Slowly! Oh so slowly

The film moves at a very impressive rate, the story is an interesting one, and writer/director Tom Holland does a great job making the audience care about the characters and what's happening to them. From beginning to end, there is a lot to love about Fright Night. After all these years, it remains a personal favorite, and a movie I try to watch at least once a year.

On A Score Of One To Ten: 9


Fright Night Movie Trailer

Friday, November 3, 2017

OPEN WATER 2: ADRIFT

Open Water 2: Adrift Movie Review

A group of six morons and a baby take a yacht out into an ocean, and amidst their horseplay, they all decide to go for a swim--actually, one girl didn't want to go in, but she was forced to against her will--that's not really important. It's not until they're in the water, however, that they realize nobody bothered to lower the ladder so they could climb back on.

"Damn! We're in a tight spot!"

Other than also featuring people stranded in the ocean, this movie doesn't really tie in to the original, overrated film, and unlike that movie, isn't really based on a true story, though it claims to be. It is kind of, sort of teased that, as in the original film, we may see sharks, but surprisingly, that doesn't happen; instead, we get a lot of attempting to get back on the boat, a lot of whining and blaming, a quick flurry of action that sees one character get stabbed, one die of exhaustion, and another, the one who looks like a young Jeff Brantley, hit his head on the bottom of the boat and suffer a skull fracture.

"Right. Down. Broadway."

Outside that fifteen minutes, and a little in the end, there's not much action in this film, but it certainly does a better job keeping your attention than Open Water does. Strangely, you may actually find yourself caring about a character or two along the way, something you certainly wouldn't expect after the first half hour of the film. The end, and subsequently, who survives, will surprise nobody. The dialogue switches from captivating to mind-numbing with unusual regularity, and the editing leaves a lot to be desired. While not exactly the movie you are expecting it to be, Open Water 2: Adrift has some interesting moments that keep it...ahem...floating in a sea of mediocre sequels. 

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 5


Open Water 2: Adrift Movie Trailer

Tuesday, October 31, 2017

IT CAME FROM BENEATH THE SEA

It Came From Beneath The Sea Movie Review

When a submarine comes in contact with a mysterious object, the Navy enlists the help of Professor Lesley Joyce (Faith Domergue of This Island Earth and Cult of the Cobra fame) and Dr. John Carter (Donald Curtis) to find out what it was. It is soon discovered that the object was a giant, boat-attacking octopus.

It likes attacking buildings too

A lot of this movie's time is spent trying to figure out what the octopus is, convincing the important people it is, in fact, a giant octopus, and thinking of ways to destroy it, while at the same time developing a relationship between Joyce and Commander Pete Mathews (Kenneth Tobey)--of course he eventually wins her over, proving that, even in 1955, hot chicks fell for the biggest jerk in the room.

"Yes, he's a jerk...but he's so handsome!"

This is a lot to sit through to finally get to something actually happening, but when the octopus is revealed, it is 1950s science fiction gold. The miniature models and stop-motion effects of the octopus are outstanding, and it's attack on San Francisco and the Golden Gate Bridge are the stuff of nightmares (Sani, never watch this one). The acting is fair, and Domergue is as good as ever, but the dialogue is weak and the sub-plots uninteresting. Watch this one for Domergue and the octopus--outside of them, there's not much else to this film

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 5


It Came From Beneath The Sea Movie Trailer

Friday, October 27, 2017

30 DAYS OF NIGHT

30 Days Of Night Movie Review

The residents of Barrow, Alaska are preparing for 30 days of darkness--what better time for a tribe of vampires to pay a visit? That's the basic story of this 2007 horror flick based on a series of comic books. The film stars Josh Hartnett (The Faculty) and Melissa George (Triangle, The Amityville Horror), and both do a fine job in this one--in fact, the acting across the board is pretty solid in this movie. Ben Foster (X-Men: The Last Stand) is very memorable in his brief time in the film, and Danny Huston (The Number 23) is terrifying as the head vampire.

You've got red on you

This movie has a very dark feel about it--even without the vampires, the mood of a town suffering a month straight of darkness is somber as it is. Gorehounds will be very pleased with this film--once the vampires attack, the violence and bloodshed are unrelenting--the aerial shot of the town under attack is particularly awesome. Not only is the film bloody, the violent scenes are often so realistic looking they border on being disturbing. The vampires themselves actually look scary, and, in a nice touch, also speak their own language. The body count is high, and the movie moves at a great pace. The movie is visually stunning, adding to the viewing enjoyment. Unfortunately, for everything this movie has going for it, the ending is a tremendous letdown, preventing this from being among the all time great vampire flicks--that said, 30 Days of Night is still a very good horror movie, and is one I have watched at least a dozen times.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 8


30 Days Of Night Movie Trailer

Tuesday, October 24, 2017

DARK HARVEST

Dark Harvest Movie Review

After inheriting a farm and the accompanying house, Sean (Don Digiulio) brings five friends along to check it out--what the group doesn't know is that Sean's great-grandfather, as a way to be sure his crops would always grow, made a deal with the devil--the following night, during the harvest moon, Satan is sending some demons, in the form of scarecrows, to collect on the debt still owed him. I first came across this movie years ago when I bought an entire box of rare horror on VHS at a yard sale for next to nothing--almost all the films were of the low budget variety, and some brought in a pretty penny on Ebay. Most of the movies were pretty awful, and while I wouldn't call Dark Harvest a good movie, it really isn't as bad as I expected it to be. There is next to no budget and the movie looks like it was filmed on a camcorder, but the story, while not entirely original, works enough to allow the viewer to see past these things. The acting is a step up from what you would expect, but none of these people are likely to win an Academy Award any time soon. There are several scenes in the movie that produce in the blood factor, but that only makes it all the more frustrating when the death scenes occur off screen.

"Hey miss, did I really kill you?"

There is a bit of CGI in this movie, and it is laughably bad but mercifully limited. The directing, and especially the editing, leaves a ton to be desired--slow motion is used WAY too often, there are more unnecessary cuts within any given scene than one can count, and there's even a scene that is randomly thrown in between two other scenes that make two characters appear to be in two different places at the same time. Speaking of the two scenes that wrap around the one scene--it is of the four chicks in the movie swimming naked, just because. This movie is very much a throwback to the 80s--coupled with the fact it's about scarecrows, something I'm always a sucker for, I probably like Dark Harvest more than I should.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 5


Dark Harvest Movie Trailer

Monday, October 23, 2017

TARANTULA

Tarantula Movie Review

Professor Gerald Deemer (Hitchcock film regular Leo G. Carroll) and his colleagues have devised a formula that rapidly increases the growth of animals, but when a tarantula escapes the lab, the results are deadly. I really love watching 1950s sci-fi monster movies, and this 1955 classic is no exception. Let's face it--as much as we love this genre, most of the films are filled with awful dialogue, bad acting, horrible directing--this can certainly add to the enjoyment of some of the films, but Tarantula separates itself from a lot of the pack by actually delivering competency in these areas as well. The acting across the board is actually good, the dialogue is smart, the story is interesting, and the film has a wonderful pace. The makeup and special effects are quite impressive as well, but fear not, monster movie fans--some of the visuals and cheesiness we love are here too.

"..and then he said "Spider? I never even..."

The movie teases romance between our lead, Dr. Matt Hastings (husband of Shirley Temple and regular John Wayne sidekick), and understudy Stephanie Clayton (former Playboy model Mara Corday), but that really goes nowhere. It also...oh, you want to see Corday? Well, if you insist...

You're welcome

Tarantula is also known for the very brief appearance of a young Clint Eastwood, in an uncredited role.

"Get off my desert floor"

The 1950s produced dozens and dozens of giant, mutant insect and creature movies, but few are as good as Tarantula. While it falls short of what I would consider a "great" movie, if you are a fan of this genre, it should be considered a must-see.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 7


Tarantula Movie Trailer

Friday, October 20, 2017

KISS OF THE TARANTULA

Kiss of the Tarantula Movie Review

After learning her mother and uncle plan on killing her father so they can be together, creepy, spider-loving little girl Susan uses a tarantula to kill her mom. We flash forward a few years and see Susan is now in high school, still loves spiders, and is picked on by several people from school and around town--I'll let you guess what happens to them.

"Want to hold my friend?"

This movie came out during the mid-seventies, and was one of several movies of that decade that revolved around loner weirdos with some connection to animals, which they use to exact revenge--Jennifer and Stanley are two other good examples, and I am realizing now I have yet to review Jennifer--stay tuned. While certainly tame for a horror film (it is rated PG, though would likely get a PG-13 these days), it does have some pretty horrific moments and a small bit of gore. The music is pretty good in this one, helping to set an unsettling mood throughout. Suzanna Ling does a good job as the teenage Susan, and I was surprised to learn this was the only movie she ever appeared in. The rest of the acting is pretty rough, and the pace does slow down incredibly, making it seem longer than its 91 minutes run time. The dialogue is really bad here too, and the directing is awful, but the story itself is interesting enough to keep you hooked. Stick with it--you'll love what happens to the creeper uncle in the end. I wasn't expecting much out of this movie, but Kiss Of the Tarantula turned out a little better than I thought it would be. I give this one a mild recommendation in general, and a must-see if you are into the films I mentioned earlier.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 6

Kiss of the Tarantula Movie Trailer

Thursday, October 19, 2017

SEE NO EVIL

See No Evil Movie Review

A group of teenage criminals are brought to an abandoned hotel to clean it up in exchange for shorter sentences--while there, they are stalked by a hook and chain wielding killer (Glenn Jacobs, aka WWE wrestler Kane). After the initial scene, where we see the killer has been shot after gouging out some chick's eyes, the movie drags, as we are introduced to the herd of victims--none are developed beyond the superficial, and not a single one of them is even remotely likable. Once the killer, named in the credits as Jacob Goodnight, a name never actually used in the film, shows up in the hotel, the body count begins adding up and we finally get what we came for.

Through hell, fire, and brimstone!

While the kills are often and the gore great, the style of shooting, and especially the post production work, absolutely kill the movie. There are more jump cuts than one can count, lots of light flashes, and editing so choppy it makes the film almost unwatchable. The movie is obviously a ripoff of ode to Friday The 13th and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, and doesn't come close to being as good as either. While Kane is a decent choice to play a killer--he's a huge guy who just naturally looks scary--the rest of the acting is beyond bad--many high school productions have more natural talent than this film. Watch this one for the sheer number of death scenes and the gore, but be warned--there's nothing outside of that going for it.

On A Scale of One To Ten: 4

See No Evil Movie Trailer

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

CREEPSHOW 2

Creepshow 2 Movie Review

Hitting theaters five years after the original Creepshow, the sequel is kind of brought to us by the same people--Stephen King wrote the stories and George A. Romero created the screenplay, but handed over directing duties to Michael Gornick, a cinematographer in the original film. While still an anthology, this one scales back from the five stories in the original to just three here, with a wraparound story, just as in the first. The largely-animated wraparound story is, unfortunately, fairly weak and uninteresting--a young boy, who happens to be a fan of the Creepshow comic, is bullied by classmates, and The Creep (played by Tom Savini when not in animated form) introduces the stories. Thankfully, the stories are far better and more entertaining than this.

Old Chief Wood'nhead

Our first story finds an older couple (George Kennedy of Cool Hand Luke fame and 1930s beauty queen Dorothy Lamour in her final role) harassed and eventually killed by local thugs. The wooden Indian outside the couples' general store soon comes to life to seek revenge on the troublemakers. 

The good chief himself

This story is a wonderful way to kick off the anthology. Kennedy and Lamour do a great job in their roles, making their demise all the more tragic, and Holt McCallany was so over the top as Sam Whitemoon, the egotistical leader of the youngsters, that you will cheer out loud when he meets up with The Chief at the end of the story. Much like in the original Creepshow, the second film was a regular in my house when I was young, and from an early age, every time I have seen a wooden Indian, I have referred to him as "Old Chief Woodn'head". This one also gives us a small sampling of the amount of blood and gore to come.

The Raft

The second story begins with four young people smoking pot and going to a lake to swim out to a raft--when they get there, they find a weird blob-like, oil slick-looking thing in the water, and soon discover it has a taste for human flesh. This story seems to drag quite a bit, especially in the build up to the group arriving on the raft. The characters aren't particularly likable, and the actors don't do much to help this issue--Daniel Beer is especially unbearable as Randy--his reactions to his friends dying are so bad they're must-see. The saving grace in this story is the wonderful makeup job and terrifying death scenes.

Groovy

One scene--the first thing that happens after the remaining two wake up the following morning--is so out of left field and uncomfortable it makes you wonder what the writers/director were thinking, but it leads to a moment (see the picture above) that will have you questioning if what Randy did was all part of his plan. The final seconds of this one are also pretty cool, if not predictable.

The Hitchhiker

The third and final story revolves around a woman (Lois Chiles) who, in a hurry to get home to her husband so he doesn't suspect she's cheating on him (she is), accidentally loses control of her car and kills a hitchhiker (Tom Wright). The hitchhiker comes back to haunt the woman as she continues to drive, repeatedly saying the same thing to her...

"Thanks for the ride, lady!"

For sheer amount of blood and gore, you can't beat this one. This story is interesting in that while you feel the terror the woman must be experiencing, you simultaneously have trouble feeling sorry for her, as she really deserves what is happening to her. Wright is fantastic here as one of the more memorable characters in any Creepshow film I spoke earlier of growing up on this movie--this segment had such an impact on my mom that to this day she doesn't refer to the movie as Creepshow 2--to her, it has always been, and will always be, known as Thanks For The Ride, Lady

Without question, Creepshow 2 is a step or two below the original Creepshow. I wish they would have cut some of the fat off the three segments and added a fourth, I wish the wraparound would have been more interesting, and one can only imagine how much better this movie could have been with better acting--all that said, Creepshow 2 is still a ton of fun to watch, and remains a personal favorite of mine.

On A Scale Of One Too Ten: 7


Creepshow 2 Movie Trailer

THE FOG

The Fog Movie Review

The small town of Antonio Bay, California, is celebrating their year number one hundred, but most don't know the town was founded by a group of thieves who intentionally shipwrecked a boat of lepers and stole their treasure. The lepers, accompanied by a thick, glowing fog, have returned, and are killing anybody who gets between them and their gold.


He sword he's be back

It had been a long time since I watched this movie (probably before the girl who requested I review this one was even born---hello Ashley!), and I remembered it being pretty good--unfortunately, this is one of those movies that turns out to be better in memory than it actually is. There are a ton of names and faces you will recognize here, including Adrienne Barbeau (Creepshow), Jamie Lee Curtis (Prom Night), Janet Leigh (Psycho), Nancy Loomis (Halloween), and Hal Holbrook (also from Creepshow), and the movie was written and directed by horror legend John Carpenter. The whole evil-in-the-fog thing will put you in mind of The Crawling Eye, if you've ever had the pleasure of seeing that classic, and the biggest drawback of this movie is the sheer amount of time it takes for the leper ghosts to arrive. The story just sort of goes around in circles until the evil beings finally appear--during that time, the characters are not well developed and, worse, the actors seem uninterested--a shame considering the cast. Once the ghosts finally do arrive, however, the movie picks up, delivering a good amount of creepiness. If you're looking for gore, look elsewhere--all the violence takes place off screen. The final scene is so cheesy and cliche you will either shake your head in disgust or smile with pleasure--just don't try to make too much sense of it--or anything else in the film for that matter.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 5


The Fog Movie Trailer