Monday, December 5, 2011

SUPER 8

Super 8 Movie Review

This 2011 film tells the story of a group of kids in 1979 who witness, and record, a train accident while filming a movie with a Super 8 camera.

Here they are now..

People start to realize that something is not quite right about this incident, and begin to wonder if it's an accident at all. The truth turns out to be quite different from anybody expected. This is a fun film that packs action, comedy, drama, and suspense. The acting is pretty good, especially considering the majority of the main actors are children. The real appeal, however, is the action and storytelling. Director J.J. Abrams does a fantastic job telling the story in a retro-Steven Spielberg sort of way--it's no coincidence that Spielberg is a producer on this one. I think teens and adults alike will enjoy this film, which its rated PG-13.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 8

Super 8 Movie Trailer

Thursday, April 7, 2011

GAMERA VS GAOS

Gamera Vs Gaos Movie Review

A volcano eruption in Japan unleashes Gaos, a monster set out to destroy everything in its path. Gamera soon arrives to battle the monster. Gaos is a pretty cool looking creature, resembling a cross between a bat and a raven, with glowing yellow eyes. He spits laser-like beams from his mouth, resulting in things in being split in half.

Cool

The story in this movie is sort of weak and, of course, the special effects are pretty bad. The main kid in this one is rather annoying too, made worse by the irritating dubbing. Still, the reason for watching these movies has little to do with acting or dialogue. It’s all about the action, and that is pretty good here. Gaos is vampire-like in that he only comes out at night and is hurt by sunlight. Gamera gets pretty creative in some of the battles too. This was an okay movie that, unfortunately, slows down too much throughout, and the ending is sudden and makes no sense at all.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 5


Gamera Vs Gaos Original Japanese Movie Trailer

GAMERA VS MONSTER X

Gamera vs Monster X Movie Review

After an ancient statue is moved for the World Fair in Japan, a curse is unleashed and Monster X arrives to wreak havoc on the city. It’s up to Gamera to save the day. This is a Japanese monster movie from 1970 that falls nicely into that genre. Gamera is a giant turtle looking monster that protects the citizens, particularly the children, of Japan. He flies by tucking his head and legs into his shell, producing jet pack looking flames that spin him in circles and send him on his way.

Gamera

 Monster X is a red triceratops-looking creature that can shoot projectiles from his horns.

X

As is typical with these sorts of movies, the creatures fight a couple times throughout the movie. The end of one fight finds Gamera stuck on his back while Monster X goes on to destroy the city. You know what to expect from these movies: bad special effects, awful dialogue and dubbing, and a lot of fun along the way. Gamera is a comically cute looking creature that is instantly likable. The sets are obvious small model buildings with people in rubber suits crawling and walking over them to crush them. This does not matter at all--in fact, it adds to the enjoyment. I grew up a huge Godzilla fan so I love such things. Oddly, the music throughout sounds more like some American Patriotic tunes. As I said, this is a pretty fun movie that fans of this genre should enjoy. Though strangely, on this set this was the first movie on the first disk, and there are several more Gamera films to come in the set, even though this was the final movie of the series.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 6

The Gamera vs Monster X original Japanese trailer

Sunday, March 20, 2011

DERANGED

Deranged Movie Review

Farmer Ezra Cobb (Roberts Blossom Christine, Doc Hollywood) begins to lose his mind after the death of his mother. A year later he digs her body up and brings it home, leading him to digging up several more bodies and committing murder. The movie starts out with a narrator breaking the fourth wall, explaining this movie was based on a true story, and was hard to watch. The narrator shows up throughout the movie, which is, in fact, based on the real-life story of Wisconsin killer/grave robber/cannibal Ed Gein. This movie is pretty accurate to the real life story of Gein, of course adding a few things as well. Blossom does a pretty convincing job here as “Ez”.

Ez

Otherwise the acting ranges from mediocre to bad. This movie suffers from dragging long periods of time with little to nothing happening—odd considering Gein did so much that could have made this movie far more interesting. The dialogue is poor and even laughable at times. The style of shooting leaves a lot to be desired, especially the repeated appearance of the narrator. The gore is pretty much left to a minimal and the special effects are somewhat disappointing considering horror legend Tom Savini was in charge of that department. This isn’t really a terrible movie, but it comes up way too short on the potential it had.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 4

Deranged Movie Trailer

Saturday, March 19, 2011

HOT FUZZ

Hot Fuzz Movie Review

London police officer Nick Angel (Simon Pegg) is so good at what he does that he is making the rest of the force look bad, so they have him transferred to a small country town. There, he joins an incompetent force, including his new partner Danny (Nick Frost), the police chief’s bumbling son. This is the second in the “Blood and Ice Cream” trilogy to feature Pegg, Frost, and director Edgar Wright, the first being Shaun Of The Dead.

The ice cream

While Shaun was a nod to zombie flicks, Hot Fuzz is dedicated to cop-buddy action films. Like Shaun, this one packs tons of action, gore, and comedy into a fantastic film. This movie hits every cliché known to action movies without missing a beat. Pegg and Frost, of course, are fantastic in this movie, and the supporting cast is really good as well. The story actually has an interesting plot to boot. The humor will not be for everybody as it is very British, but I absolutely love it, and love this film.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 9

Hot Fuzz Movie Trailer

Friday, March 18, 2011

THE BLAIR WITCH PROJECT

The Blair Witch Project Movie Review

Three documentary filmmakers go into the woods of Maryland to document the story of local legend The Blair Witch. This 1999 film, shot on a shoestring budget, was a huge, unexpected hit when it was released, as it was rumored that the footage was real. The style of shooting of this movie is very unusual--the three actors in the woods were given cameras and shot nearly all the footage themselves.

Smile

All the lines were improvised. They did not know what the scares would be, and thus the reactions are authentic. This all adds up to a film that feels real, adding to the scare of it. The movie has a feel of a Japanese supernatural movie, with a bit of a slow burn leading to the finale. It’s also interesting to note the witch is never actually seen, adding the fear of the unknown. This was a groundbreaking film when it came out that, over time, has lost its appeal to a lot of people and is not quite as respected as it was when it was released. Still, one cannot deny this laid the groundwork for many, many "found footage" films that would follow in the years to come. This is not a perfect movie, but is still a very good one. I saw it in the theatre when it came out--I liked it then, and I like it now.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 8

The Blair Witch Project Movie Trailer

Thursday, March 10, 2011

FROZEN

Frozen Movie Review

Three friends are trapped on a chairlift after the ski resort has shut down until the following weekend. It is snowing and freezing, and the three must find a way to survive. This movie is pretty slow getting started, basically introducing the three main characters, and showing some skiing, before they get stuck on the lift. Once that happens, the movie gets considerably better.

And this is why I don't ski

The sheer terror of that the three characters are experiencing comes off well through how the film was shot, from the way you see the cold gradually effecting them to the height of the chair from the ground to the eventual desperation. The acting isn’t great, but it is good enough to not ruin the movie. The writing and directing are the strong points here. There are a couple surprises in this movie, and there was more gore than I anticipated as well. I wasn’t expecting much from this film but it turned out to be a nice, pleasant surprise.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 7

Frozen Movie Trailer

THE GORE GORE GIRLS

The Gore Gore Girls Movie Review

A serial killer is murdering strippers in very brutal fashion as a detective and reporter attempt to track him down. This movie is one part horror, one part comedy, one part mystery, and is not good at any of them. This is basically stripper dances, gets killed, repeat, with lots of bad dialogue and terrible acting in between. If you can make it through the first hour, however, the last twenty minutes aren’t so bad—unless maybe the first hour is so bad the last twenty minutes seems better than it actually is. At any rate, the last twenty minutes are full of death scenes and stripping, so at least something is happening. For some reason, many horror movies in the 70’s seem to throw in painfully unfunny comedy as well, and this holds true in this film. The death scenes are gory, with brains being crushed and eyeballs popped out, but it all looks so fake it is more laughable than scary. Strangely, this movie received an X rating when it was released—I have no idea why. The Gore Gore Girls really doesn't have much going for it. Skip it.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 3

The Gore Gore Girls Movie Trailer (It's much better than the movie itself) 

Saturday, March 5, 2011

THE LOST BOYS 3: THE THIRST

The Lost Boys 3: The Thirst Movie Review

Edgar Frog (Corey Feldman, The Goonies, Dream A Little Dream) is broke and being evicted from his home when he is offered a chance to kill the head vampire, destroying all other vampires. The third movie in the Lost Boys series is considerably better than the second, but still fails to come even close to the original. The acting is pretty bad throughout and the plot has holes all over it. Thankfully they dropped most of the really bad CGI from part two, giving a more original feel. The vampires are really hit or miss, with the more powerful vampires being by far the least effective. There are several references to the original film, including rehashing lines from it, and there are even a few scenes from the first movie included as Edgar has flashbacks. Unfortunately Corey Haim died before filming, making it impossible to get the Sam vs. Edgar battle teased in part 2, but the character is included in the story and Haim is featured in flashback scenes. It is mentioned in part two that Alan Frog (Jamison Newlander) is dead, but he is in part three, albeit as a vampire.

The meanest, the baddest...and a chick

Most of the major characters from the original film are mentioned in the movie as well, telling us what ends up happening to them. They also sort of ripped on the Twilight phenomenon and reality television as well, both of which earned points from me. This really isn’t a bad movie—it’s not great either, but having watched part 2, I was pleasantly surprised here.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 6

The Lost Boys 3: The Thirst Movie Trailer

Wednesday, March 2, 2011

DEAD AND GONE

Dead And Gone Movie Review

Jack Wade (Quentin Jones) brings his comatose wife to a small house in the middle of nowhere, waiting for her to die so he can collect insurance money. Jack is soon haunted by visions of his wife and the ghosts of dead people. This low budget film really doesn’t have much going for it--the directing is bad, the acting worse, and the dialogue is awful. Most of the gore scenes are so fake looking they’re laughable. For the most part the movie crawls at a snails pace with nothing happening. The plot makes little to no sense at all. The only interesting thing about this movie is some of the somewhat familiar faces that turn up. Kyle Gass (music act Tenacious D), Felissa Rose (Sleepaway Camp), and Marilyn Ghigliotti (Clerks) all have small roles. And Zack Ward (A Christmas Story, Titus) has top billing on the cover of the movie but is only in it for maybe forty-five seconds.

Dead And Gone made me say uncle

None of these people are exactly “great” actors, but they are head and shoulders above the rest of the cast here. They are not well known, but considering their total screen time adds up to about five minutes, they probably had a sense they were better than this movie. I agree.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 3

Dead And Gone Movie Trailer 

Monday, February 14, 2011

I SPIT ON YOUR GRAVE (2010)

I Spit On Your Grave 2010 Movie Review

After being brutalized by a group of rednecks, writer Jennifer Hills (Sarah Butler) seeks her revenge. I was hesitant to see this remake of the 1978 film of the same name as I figured it would not come close to the brutality and despair of the original—I was wrong. This movie, from the initial torture of Jennifer to her revenge, is pretty unrelenting. Butler does a really good job as Jennifer, both as the victim and especially as the predator later. The acting of the rednecks is not quite as good, but the writing of the characters is so good that you really come to hate them and cheer when they meet their demise. The revenge deaths are really interesting and graphic—a Saw comparison would be a fair one.

This can't end well

One thing this movie is missing that the original had is the grindhouse feel. Considering this movie was never intended for mass theatre release, it would have benefited from this style of shooting. This is not a movie for everybody—some of it is really hard to watch, and I may never watch it again myself. Still, it is a decent movie that was far better than I expected, and a decent remake of the grindhouse/sexploitation classic.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 7

I Spit On Your Grave Movie Trailer

Wednesday, February 9, 2011

LAKE PLACID 3

 Lake Placid 3 Movie Review

Giant killer crocodiles are once again terrorizing Lake Placid. The third installment of this series is, by far, the worst yet. The CGI in the movie is terrible--at times, this works in the pure comedy of it all, but more often it is just distracting and poorly done, looking more like a college media project than an actual film. The real problem with this approach is there is not a single scary moment in the entire film.

Fight oar die

Even worse than the CGI, however, is the acting. With the exception of Jack Nicholson doppelganger Michael Ironside, the acting was some of the worst you are likely to see in a film with a budget over $10,000. What makes it worse is the fact that none of the characters are remotely likable, so I spent the entire movie wishing the crocs would just kill them all--especially the irritating kid. There is not a lot of good to say about this movie, but there is a part of me that enjoyed the cheapness of it. Still, I likely will never watch it again.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 3


Lake Placid 3 Movie Trailer 

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

BURIED

Buried Movie Review

Paul Conroy (Ryan Reynolds Amityville Horror, Finder’s Fee) is captured in Iraq and buried alive. Equipped with a cell phone and a couple lights, he makes calls to attempt to be rescued, while also trying to get five million dollars the terrorists are demanding for his release. This is a very simply shot movie—literally the entire movie is Reynolds in a box. As such, almost the entire is movie is dialogue between Conroy and various people on the phone, and his emotional reactions to being trapped, as well as his reactions to the phone calls. I have to say I was rather bored with the first half of the movie but midway through it starts to take off as we get to know Paul better and know more about his life back home. He becomes very likable, and I found myself cheering for him. Some of the shots are questionable, as they show Reynolds from a distance, giving the impression the coffin is much larger than an actual coffin, as if we are seeing him through tunnels that do not exist.

Like this

This seems the opposite of what they should have been going for, which is the actual small space he is locked in. Reynolds, who is a hit or miss sort of actor for me, is really good in this, and brings a ton of emotion to the role, particularly towards the end. Some of his phone calls and messages, such as the ones with his mother and his son, are absolutely heartbreaking. We are also given an ending that is pretty unforgettable. If you can force yourself through about the first 45 minutes of this film you will be rewarded.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 7

Buried Movie Trailer

Monday, January 24, 2011

SCARECROWS

 Scarecrows Movie Review

After hijacking a military plane, a group of thieves end up in the middle of nowhere, hunted and killed by a family of scarecrows, and then turned into scarecrows themselves. There is a strange mix of 80’s action movie with horror here, and the combination is probably even worse than you are imagining. The scarecrows actually look pretty cool, and there are a couple decent death scenes, but I don’t know if there is anything else positive I can say about this movie.

It gets no better in this one

The acting is beyond bad. The dialogue is awful—in fact, if, for some reason, you want to watch this movie, I would recommend watching it without sound at all, as there is nothing of any importance spoken. Some of the shots are repeated over and over throughout the film as well, for no real reason. The few special effects, as it were, are laughable. Most of the scenes where something is actually happening are done in slow motion, only adding to the pain of watching this film. Mercifully, the film is pretty short at about 75 minutes. Do yourself a favor—skip this one.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 3

Scarecrows Movie Trailer (It's not in English, but that doesn't really matter)

Saturday, January 22, 2011

BLACK CHRISTMAS (1974) (aka SILENT NIGHT, EVIL NIGHT and STRANGER IN THE HOUSE)


Black Christmas / Silent Night Evil Night / Stranger In The House Movie Review

Around Christmas, a sorority house keeps getting strange phone calls and eventually start getting killed off one by one. This 1974 film, which inspired a remake in 2006, is considered somewhat of a classic horror film, but watching it, I couldn’t help but wonder why. Yes, maybe it is a bit ahead of its time, but overall it is a fairly boring movie. None of the death scenes are really interesting, or even shown for that matter. There is one thing it is known for, and deserves credit for, and that is the idea of the killer calling from inside the house.

Wait, so you're saying you're IN the house?!

Otherwise it is a fairly tame horror. There are a couple pretty good performances though. Margot Kidder (Superman 1 2, Halloween 2) is good as Barb, the mean sister of the group, and Olivia Hussey (It) is equally as impressive as Jess, the lead female (neither is bad on the eyes either). Overall I found this to be a fairly average, highly overrated film. Note the film was also released under the names Silent Night, Evil Night and Stranger In The House.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 5

Black Christmas Movie Trailer 

DEVIL

Devil Movie Review

Five strangers are trapped in an elevator.

What could go wrong?

As the building security and detectives attempt to get to them, they begin dying off one by one and everybody realizes there may be more in that elevator than they realize. This is a fairly suspenseful film, as you spend a lot of it trying to figure out which character is killing off the others (or which one is the Devil, if you will). The film also looks at the idea that nothing is coincidence, and the story really plays out well as we learn more and more about the characters as we go along. There is not a lot of gore in this one (in fact hardly any at all) but it does provide several freaky scenes/images. The acting is fair—nothing standout but nothing offensively bad either. There is a bit of a twist ending which is sort of cool. I sometimes complain about movies being too long but seldom say a movie is too short—Devil, clocking in around 80 minutes, is too short. There are some part of the movie that drag along a bit, but there always seems to be something happening to advance the story. This is the first movie of a trilogy being written by M. Night Shyamalan (he did not direct this) titled The Night Chronicles, three stories of the supernatural in the modern urban world. He kicked it off pretty well with this movie.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 8

Devil Movie Trailer 

THE TOOLBOX MURDERS (1978)

The Toolbox Murders Movie Review

A maniac in an apartment complex is killing women with items from--yes--a toolbox. The first part of this movie is really, really good. The death scenes are brutal and unrelenting. There is plenty of blood, horror, and terrifying moments, with a bit of nudity thrown in as well—all a good combination for a horror flick.

Sounds good...tell me more

I was really getting into the movie—until the midway point. For some reason it does a complete one-eighty, and what was starting out as a brutal horror film became some sort of psychological-kidnapping-detective mess of a movie with horrible dialogue and even worse acting. Unfortunately, it stays this way until the end. In particular there is a scene between the killer/kidnapper and the kidnap victim that seems to go on forever and really turned me off to the film completely. I was really ready to give this film an 8 or 9 for the first half of it, but the second half absolutely killed the movie, and I am probably being generous with the score I am going to give it.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 6

The Toolbox Murders Movie Trailer

Wednesday, January 19, 2011

SORORITY ROW

Sorority Row Movie Review

A group of sorority sisters decide to play a prank on a frat guy by convincing him his girlfriend is dead, but the prank goes wrong when he actually kills her. They all dump the body and  agree to tell nobody what happened, but now somebody is killing them off one by one. This is a remake of the 1983 movie The House On Sorority Row, and like many remakes of the past few years, it is fairly weak. This movie feels a lot more like I Know What You Did Last Summer than The House On Sorority Row. The sorority girls are all pretty much interchangeable and unlikable, making them pretty close to real life sorority girls. I enjoyed watching them get knocked off, but unfortunately, we don’t get enough of that. One standout among the girls was Leah Pipes as Jessica, the meanest of them all. She was so good at playing that character that I don’t know if she is actually like that in real life or if she was just THAT good in the role. I was surprised to see she was just 21 at the time of this film, however, as she looks at least 30.

Did I ax for your opinion?

There are a couple pretty cool kills that kept my interest, and it does a decent job of keeping you wondering who the killer is, but the payoff is disappointing. For the most part this movie is a lot of bad acting, bad dialogue, and even worse music. This is just a really average movie.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 5

Sorority Row Movie Trailer

FIDO

Fido Movie Review

What would happen if the suburbs of the 1950’s included zombies equipped with a special collar that kept them tame enough to help out around the house? That is the premise of Fido, a 2006 Canadian zomedy. I had to wonder throughout if the idea of the movie was taken from the ending of Shaun Of The Dead, so, while a great idea in Shaun, it seemed like a bit of a rip-off here. This was a fun movie, however. First off, I am a sucker for films set in the 1950’s, so that alone earned it points in my book.

Cool car

Second, the movie is actually pretty funny from time to time—it’s not laugh out loud funny throughout, but it does have its moments. The cast does a pretty decent job with no real standouts, but nobody really bad either. The violence and gore are both kept to a minimum in this movie, which is somewhat disappointing in a zombie movie, but this really is not meant to be horror at all. The opening of the movie, a black and white video, is really good—perhaps the best part of the film. This is not going to rank as one of my favorite movies ever, but I did enjoy it and thought it was fun.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 7

Fido Movie Trailer 

Saturday, January 15, 2011

HOUSE OF 1000 CORPSES

House of 1000 Corpses Movie Review

Two couples on a road trip to see roadside attractions find themselves trapped in a house full of psychopaths wanting to sacrifice them to Doctor Satan. Rob Zombie makes his movie writing and directing debut in this horror film that gives a nod to 70’s grindhouse flicks. The story itself is a simple one, and surprisingly the film actually has little gore. As I mentioned, this movie is done like a 70’s grindhouse film, and, in my opinion, really started the trend of such dedication movies.

And enjoy some chicken before you go

The directing is very interesting here, as Zombie uses many shots that most typical moviegoers would be unfamiliar with--this comes with mixed results. The acting is so-so, with the standouts being veteran television actor Sid Haig as Captain Spaulding and Bill Moseley (Army Of Darkness, Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2) as Otis, one of the psychopaths. Zombie’s wife Sheri Moon also delivers a wickedly good performance as Baby. You will likely also recognize Rainn Wilson of The Office here. This movie will not be everybody’s cup of tea, and it really is not a great movie, but as a fan of grindhouse films, I enjoy it.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 7

House of 1000 Corpses Movie Trailer

Friday, January 14, 2011

PIRANHA 3D (2010)

Piranha 3D Movie Review

An Earthquake opens a hidden lake beneath another lake, unleashing thousands of piranha thought to be extinct for millions of years. The piranha then feast on college kids on spring break.

Extinct no more

This movie is basically full of gore, topless and/or naked chicks, bad CGI, even worse dialogue, horrible music, and a ridiculous storyline, but, in spite of everything bad about it, I couldn’t help but like the movie. This is a 2010 remake of a 1978 film that was a spoof of sorts of Jaws. There is a surprising number of recognizable actors in this film: Elizabeth Shue (Hallow Man, Back To The Future 2) plays the sheriff, Jerry O’Connell (Stand By Me, Scream 2) plays a sleazy porn director, Ving Rhames (Dawn of the Dead, Pulp Fiction) plays a police officer, and Eli Roth (Inglorious Basterds, Hostel), Richard Dreyfuss (Jaws, What About Bob?), and Christopher Lloyd (Back To The Future, Taxi) all have cameos—these actors all do a great job here, especially Lloyd as Mr. Goodman, the man who recognizes the piranha, in a performance very reminiscent of his character Doc Brown from the BTTF series.

Great Scott!

The rest of the actors in the film, however, range from bad to awful. As stated, the CGI is really bad in this movie, but the out of water gore is very well done. This movie is horror but with tongue planted firmly in cheek. It is really a B movie that made theatres, thanks largely to being in 3D, which, when you’re not watching it in 3D, is actually quite distracting. This is not a great movie, which is okay because it was not made to be. Instead it is made as a fun, campy horror, and it does quite well as that.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 7

Piranha 3D Movie Trailer 

Saturday, January 8, 2011

AFTER.LIFE

After.Life Movie Review

After dying in a car accident, Anna (Christina Ricci, Fear & Loathing In Las Vegas, Sleepy Hollow) awakens in a funeral parlor where the funeral director (Liam Neeson Taken, Batman Begins) is trying to convince her she is dead. The movie basically tries to keep you guessing as to whether Anna is alive or dead throughout, providing a lot of exchanges between the two main characters, to mixed results.

Has she thoughts within her head?

Honestly, most of this movie is fairly boring. There is some action every once in a while to break up the conversation scenes, but they are generally predictable and bland as well. The performances are actually pretty good between the lead characters, which helps make the movie somewhat enjoyable. Ricci also looks really good in this movie, and spends a good bit of it naked or topless, so there's that. The end is one that is meant to keep you guessing as well, but if you’re not into the movie you probably won’t care anyway. This is one of those movies that wasn’t offensively bad, but wasn’t particularly good either.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 5

After.Life Movie Trailer

THE CRAZIES (1973)

The Crazies Movie Review

When a plane carrying a biological weapon crashes in a small town in Pennsylvania, the chemical gets in the water and starts to make people go crazy. Soon, the military is called in to quarantine the city and a war breaks out between the soldiers and the locals. If you have seen the remake of this film you probably think this must be a good film—I did anyways, especially considering it was directed by the legendary George A Romero. I, however, was very let down by this one. It moves at an absolute snails pace and hardly anything actually happens throughout the movie except locals and military shooting at each other, reminding me more of a western film than a zombie movie.

Lots of this going on

The acting is pretty bad and the dialogue is even worse. The audio work on the film is sub par. The ending is as boring as the rest of the movie. There are one or two scenes that are pretty well done and surprising, but they are hardly worth watching the movie to see. The idea of the movie is a good one, and I appreciate how some of the scenes were shot, but other than that there is not a lot I can say for this movie. At least it inspired a much better remake many years later.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 4

The Crazies Movie Trailer 

Thursday, January 6, 2011

CLASS OF 1984

Class of 1984 Movie Review

New music teacher Andy Norris (Perry King, The Day After Tomorrow, Spin City) finds trouble with a gang of punks at the school, lead by Stegman (Timothy Van Patten). There were several similar movies to this one in the 80’s—a new teacher facing a rowdy school were the kids are violent and out of control, but this is probably one of the first, and probably one of the most influential. The movie has a very nice pace, slowing down only when we get glimpses of Norris at home. The acting actually isn’t too bad either. King does a fine job as Norris, Roddy McDowell (Fright Night) turns in an incredible performance as a teacher at his wits end with the kids, and we even get a glimpse of a very young Michael J. Fox (Back To The Future, Teen Wolf) as one of the few straight-laced kids.

You've got to have FAITH...wait, wrong movie

Lisa Langlois does a good job as the feisty punk Patsy as well. Van Patten seems an odd choice as the leader of the gang (and the school for that matter) as he is probably the preppiest looking “punk” you are likely to see.

Michael J looked more punk than this guy...

...maybe not

Some of the dialogue is really bad at times and some of the shots seem very amateurish. Of course most of the high school students look to be in their mid-twenties, which takes something away from the film, but you take that with a grain of salt as that has been a staple in movies for years. The beginning states this was based on a few incidents throughout the country while pointing out that very few schools were actually like that at the time and wondered if more would be like that in the future--this movie came out in 1982. We then see a scene of the kids passing through metal detectors before entering the school, giving us a chilling vision of the future we actually did get. This is really not a great movie by any stretch, and the end is very predictable, but it is a decent movie that is worth a look, especially if you are a fan of 80’s movies.

On A Scale Of One To Ten: 6

Class of 1984 Movie Trailer